Feels of Reading- Denial

*Allegiant Spoilers Warning: I will try not to spoil anything.  No guarantees.

20130519135101

 

I finished the book Allegiant by Veronica Roth (last book of the Divergent Series) about 10 minutes ago.  Those ten minutes I spent in denial.

Screen Shot 2014-03-15 at 6.16.47 PMI still am.

Not.  Dead.  They.  Are.  Lying.  It.  Is.  A.  Cruel.  Joke…..

Many books tend to have this effect on me and most, if not all, the people I know.  Kill my feelings, make me appreciate certain aspects of life, while bashing others.  The numbness of an author making it known that you will never read a line containing a certain character.  Alive.   The effect of writers on the mental psyche is both a blessing and sometimes it feels like it kills something inside.  Although I know for most dedicated authors, killing off a fictional character is more than simple scribbles on paper or a series of words on a flashing screen, sometimes I wonder whether it is a goal of authors to compare how much they can “punch” readers in the feels (metaphorically of course…)

Leave a Reply

