Last Words

Last words are sometimes funny.  Don’t get me wrong, someone having to say their “last words” is always a tragic thing.  But instead of grieving, let’s look at some sometimes hilarious, sometimes rather regrettable famous last words, emotion, etc. last words.

Why?  Because while reading A Tale of Two Cities, it dawned on me that several characters had very memorable last words.  And if Lucie Manette’s son and Sydney Carton were real and the statements in the novel were truly their last words, it’s extremely depressing.  So, out of curiosity I’m going to list a few famous words, depressing ones, and interesting ones.the-last-word640x385

“What we know is not much. What we don’t know is enormous.” ~Pierre Simon de Laplace (French astronomer)

Personally, Pierre’s last words are true and pretty deep considering he was uhh… dying. (Well… allegedly his last words…  It may have been “L’homme ne poursuit que des chimères” or “Man follows only phantoms.”)

“Oh Lord, forgive the misprints!” ~Andrew Bradford (American book-publisher)

This man definitely shows dedication to his job and a hint of humor.

“Crito, we owe a cock to Asclepius. Please, don’t forget to pay the debt.” ~Socrates
Those words, according to Plato, were the last words of Socrates.  How noble, remembering a debt with his last breath.
“Sorry Sauske… I won’t be there a next time.” ~Itachi
Okay, yeah sorry I know.  It’s an anime line.  But all the same, Itachi’s love for his brother and willingness to sacrifice makes it as sad as other famous last words in novels.
“Dear World,
I am leaving you because I am bored. I feel I have lived long enough. I am leaving you with your worries in this sweet cesspool.  Good luck.” ~George Saunders
It’s really sad that a British actor/writer decided to suicide, but his last words (left in a note) remind me a lot of Sherlock (BBC version) and his humor is strongly conveyed.
“Dear papa and mamma, I am very sorry to leave you both, and to leave my pretty sister; but I am called, and I must go!”
I really like the last words of the Manettes’ son.  He doesn’t treat death like a feared thing.  Instead welcomed it like an old friend calling upon him, does his best reassuring his family that he isn’t suffering, and that they both live on happily.  For a child, this demonstrates the levels of maturity these children were dealing with the dangerous circumstances of the French Revolution.

“It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest I go to than I have ever known.”

Ah, the last words of Sydney Carton.  The memory of his sacrifice. Those words were pretty emotional, especially since he sacrificed his own life for the love of his life to spend the rest of her life with someone else.  Another kicker was because shortly before he dies, he comforts an innocent woman and openly welcomes his fate.

A/N: I apologize for not including the last words of characters from novels.  But with high school pounding on my door like an angry tax collector (… I wouldn’t know…), I don’t really have enough time to research them all.

Two YouTube videos that may be interesting to you (by John Green the author and the Vlogbrother) on last words are: -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Ijmx3MH9_w

&

-http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jLm-5B7NXug

Leave a Reply

